Masters Historic Festival – May 2012

Posted: May 29, 2012 in Sport, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

“Motorsport the way it should be…”

That is what I thought as I watched the GT39’s and GT40’s.  That is what I thought as the Lotus chased down the Tyrell – as the Cooper followed BRM.

That is what I thought as I watched the McLaren pass the Porsche and the Chevron inch past me as I walked my way through the paddock.

That is what I thought as the driver of the #08 GT39 spoke to me about the fluid leaking from his callipers and intracacies of getting oneself in and out of a car that stood no more than 39 inches off the ground.

The location was Brands Hatch in Kent.  The weather was amazing!  Whilst I was aware it was May 27th, 2012 – the exhibition on show easily transported me back through the ages; pre 1966, post 1971 – an age when motorsport was unbelievably evocative.

I stood inside the hairpin at Druids, I walked along the fencing from Paddock.  I gazed off towards Graham Hill bend and listened as the cars howled into Clearways.

In an era when sports have become further and further removed from those that make up the fanbase,  I urge any and everyone who has the opportunity – get down to your local circuit any time you have the chance to get up close and personal with the legendary machinery of a bygone era.

Motorsport the way it should be indeed…

Leave a Reply

