Really? Housewives of New York City

Posted: October 26, 2011 in Social Commentary
Tags: , , ,

Ok – this will be an extremely short blog post from me, as I really need to get this out of my system and ask ‘what the hell kind of people are they?’

I have no idea how I stumbled across this programme but I am entirely hooked on the, in my opinion, vacuous, disingenuous and utterly self-effacing (sarcasm) protagonists that make up the cast of this unbelievable show.  And when I say ‘unbelievable’, it is not with any kind of admiration or reverence.

Surely there are only so many air-kissing, designer clothes wearing, materialistic divas; all with ego’s the size of Manhattan, that one can fit into a programme.  Surely!

However – perhaps it is just me; perhaps I have no idea what I am talking about (not something I am above admitting) – perhaps that is actually what house-wives in New York City aspire to be.

Maybe I just have a lot to learn.

Well – I intend to watch as many episodes of this ‘show’ as I can fit in to my week.  All so I can learn of course.  Really, I am.

In fact, I dare all of you to watch an episode and see if you manage to learn something as well.  Thing is – if you do, can you please come back and explain it to me?

Comments
  1. Coco Rivers says:

    It’s the 1% on film lol. Amazing how we get hooked to this stuff and ride the waves of disgust at the same time. If only to laugh at the complete surrealism of other people’s existence and values. Ah, the guilty pleasure. You are not alone. 🙂

  2. Tee says:

    Mark, I never watch these type of shows (mainly for the reasons you’ve mentioned above) but last week while away, I somehow found myself drawn into the world of the Real Housewives of Atlanta. Like you I was also shocked at just how fake people can actually be! Scary thing is that this drew me in further and I felt like I needed to watch more. This even led to me spending some time ‘keeping up with the Kardashians’ yet another one of these type of shows that I would usually give a very wide berth.

    I have no idea what they’re all about. And Im wondering if in between nose jobs, lunches, charity balls, shopping, waxing, botox, etc do they…?

    Incredible.

    • That’s the thing! It’s like the Emperor’s New Clothes meets rhinoplasty.

      They all must surely know they are insincere; that their friendships are all about self-fulfilment and status – and most disturbingly, that the whole world can watch and see it, them, their world, for what it really is.

      I guess the world is becoming increasingly hellbent on finding ways for people to be ‘famous’ for nothing specifically notable at all.

Leave a Reply

