Favourite Things…

Posted: March 20, 2011 in Poems, Social Commentary
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Of all the questions I struggle to answer; all the queries that make me think.

I’d have to say I always labour to say “what are my most favourite things?”

I love music, books; get lost in great films – love ice-cream & cake and have a soft spot for sweet things.

However, when pushed for a choice of what I most treasure; of what above else I most deeply adore – I always find I get stuck for an answer; as I’ll chose something I love, then remember I love something a bit more.

So I’ve created this space, this page on my blog; not somewhere for me, no it’s for you to all hog. Like a friendly warm tavern, with log fires and beer. A place for discussion, with dark booths in the rear.

The sign posted outside reads “favourite Things”, so open the door here, and let the discussions begin.

Comments
  1. Coco Rivers says:

    Let me be the first to dive in :). Like you, I have many favorite things. Of late, people keeping asking me why I decided to go into Landscaping and my response invariably is that I love nature. I realize that I have always loved natrure but was slow to acknowledge it.

    My love of trees which goes back as far as I can remember. In fact, strangley enough, I have recently uncovered a host of photographs, going back in time, where I am standing in front a tree, arms akimbo. Mexico, Texas, California, New York and there I am grinning gleefully. I am dying to see the Redwoods and plan to make it my next trip.

    Why? Because they are silent, yet speak volumes. Majestic, impervious and sculpturally riveting. I love looking at the bark of trees, their gnarled and twisted forms, the shape and sound of wind blowing through leaves moves me and I adore their height. So simple and yet so powerful 🙂

    • Coco you make me want to go and find the Weeping Willow I used to pass every day on the way to school.

      You could easily post your comment as a blog in its own – it paints a beautiful picture :).

Leave a Reply

